The Votes Are In: ASME Announces IShow Winners

May 2, 2014

9:35 am

Over the last week, a lot of you voted on which collegiate organization would win this year’s ASME IShow. People filled the Newseum on Monday to watch the competitors pitch their ideas to a distinguished panel of industry-expert judges, and, while only four teams walked away with funding, the ideas presented embody a new generation of entrepreneurs who are well on their way to making a sizeable impact in the tech startup ecosystem.

“When you take a look at where our previous I-Show winners are now, you can already see the effect these amazing young engineer-entrepreneurs are having on people’s lives around the world. At ASME, we know these brilliant college students will be the leaders of tomorrow’s engineering profession — and we are thrilled to help them,” says Madiha El- Mehelmy Kotb, president of ASME.


“When you watch the IShow, it’s so easy to be inspired by these young inventors.  We’re proud that this competition teaches them an essential skill – how to present their innovations to business audiences,” says Matthew Schatzle, Executive Director of the ASMEFoundation. “That’s an indispensable part of the process that isn’t always taught in engineering school. But it’s vital for future engineers to gain such an experience for success in the real world.”

The judges were expecting to give out three top cash prizes, but at the last minute the ASME IShow had an unexpectedly pleasant curveball tossed their way. To honor the memory of the late Dr. Abdi Zaltash, there was an additional $1,000 cash prize added for an extra team: The Dr. Abdi Zaltash Champion Award will be a new, annual feature to the ASME IShow. This year, the award went to the Johns Hopkins University team for their work with AccuSpine.

“The ASME IShow was important to gain visibility for the problem we are trying to address. It is an honor to have received such an award, and we cannot wait to go full-time on this project in May after we graduate,” says Nonspec team member Jon De Alderete on his win. “The award has provided us with enough funds to greatly increase the speed with which we are able to work on prototypes and get them to our first users.”

The winners of this year’s ASME IShow are:

First place – University of Massachusetts, LowellNonspec – $25,000


Second place – Rice UniversityTeam BiliQant – $15,000


Third place – University of Hawaii – SmarTummy – $10,000





Did you like this article?

Get more delivered to your inbox just like it!

Sorry about that. Try these articles instead!

Will is a Senior Writer with Tech.Co, based out of America's Finest City: San Diego. He covers all territory West of the Mississippi river, digging deep for awesome local entrepreneurs, companies, and ideas. He's the resident Android junkie and will be happy to tell you why you should switch to the OS. When he's off the clock, Will focuses his literary talent on the art of creative writing...or you might find him surfing in Ocean Beach. Follow Will on Twitter @WJS1988

Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)